64.3 Front contact priority

A place to ask specific rules questions about TRIUMPH!
Post Reply
User avatar
wybesse
Levy
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 9:30 pm

64.3 Front contact priority

Post by wybesse » Wed May 15, 2019 8:09 pm

One item that came up in our mini-marathon last weekend was the case of a defender with attackers whose front edges are in contact with the defender's front and flank edges (just like the illustration to 64.3). The rule is written somewhat from the defender's POV, so I wanted to be sure: if the dark stands, rather than C, in that illustration, were the attacker in a close combat phase, the dark player does not have the option, do they, of choosing the stand that is in flank contact to conduct the attack--they must choose the stand that is in front contact, correct?

We were fairly sure in this diagnosis, but wanted to confirm.
User avatar
Rod
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: 64.3 Front contact priority

Post by Rod » Thu May 16, 2019 10:54 am

Yes, if a single stand has two enemies in contact it has to fight front, and it only gets to fight once per combat round.

So even during the "dark" stand's turn they have to fight the element facing the front of C.
coopman
Levy
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 6:53 pm

Re: 64.3 Front contact priority

Post by coopman » Fri May 15, 2020 2:58 am

But the presence of the enemy unit in flank contact with C would reduce C's factor by 1 for the frontal combat resolution, correct?
User avatar
David Kuijt
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 939
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:44 pm
Location: MD suburbs of Washington DC

Re: 64.3 Front contact priority

Post by David Kuijt » Fri May 15, 2020 11:18 am

Sure. And change the results if the flanked stand had to fall back, flee, or similar.
DK
Post Reply