Rules questions

Discuss anything about Washington Grand Company Products (TRIUMPH!, MESHWESH, TERRAIN CARDS, ETC.)
Post Reply
jbbpioneer
Levy
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 12:49 am

Rules questions

Post by jbbpioneer » Wed Jun 14, 2017 3:21 am

We have been playing in the Tampa area recently and have uncovered two questions that don't seem covered by the rules (not that they should be as both are unusual cases).

What would be the official or semi-official answers to :
1. For a double move when outside 8MU from enemy, if the first move starts within command distance but the second move starts outside command distance, does the second movement cost an additional 1 or 2 command points?
2. Can a charge be made around a blind corner (woods, town, hill) where the target is not in line of sight at the beginning of the move?

Many thanks... Jeff Brown Tarpon Springs Florida
User avatar
David Kuijt
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 651
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:44 pm
Location: MD suburbs of Washington DC

Re: Rules questions

Post by David Kuijt » Wed Jun 14, 2017 10:41 am

jbbpioneer wrote:We have been playing in the Tampa area recently and have uncovered two questions that don't seem covered by the rules (not that they should be as both are unusual cases).

What would be the official or semi-official answers to :
1. For a double move when outside 8MU from enemy, if the first move starts within command distance but the second move starts outside command distance, does the second movement cost an additional 1 or 2 command points?
There is no such thing as a "double" move -- moves are separate and independent, not linked to each other. Think of it as moving for a second time, not as a double move. If you start any move (first or second) outside command range, that move costs an extra command point (so 2 pts total for that move).
jbbpioneer wrote: 2. Can a charge be made around a blind corner (woods, town, hill) where the target is not in line of sight at the beginning of the move?
"Charge"? Charge means different things in different rules sets; Triumph has no special charge rules. I assume you mean a move ending in close combat?

Ranged combat uses a simplified version of line of sight/line of fire. There is no such restriction for movement (whether it ends in combat, which is what I suspect you mean by charge, or not). In a skirmish game with a turn being a fraction of a minute such a rule might be appropriate (but would still be a difficult thing to write cleanly into the rules, without ambiguity). In Triumph a turn is a fraction of an hour, not a fraction of a minute, and there is no need to introduce any limited intelligence restrictions (such as "can't end in combat with a stand you don't start in line of sight with") in a game on that scale.

Plus, as a game designer, there are other good reasons such a rule would make me twitchy in an igo-ugo game. But regardless, there is no such restriction.

Hope you guys are enjoying the game!
DK
User avatar
Kontos
Squire
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 8:26 pm

Re: Rules questions

Post by Kontos » Wed Jun 14, 2017 12:28 pm

I've seen DK twitchy. Not pretty. :D
Post Reply