Historicon

Please post info about upcoming TRIUMPH! events and tournaments
RogerCooper
Squire

Historicon

Post by RogerCooper » Wed Mar 10, 2021 2:28 am

Will WGC be at Historicon this year? I have a tough choice to make as Historicon & Dexcon are the same days.
Rod
Grand Master WGC

Re: Historicon

Post by Rod » Wed Mar 10, 2021 2:42 am

We are planning to attend, discussing it this weekend at our company meeting.
David Kuijt
Grand Master WGC

Post by David Kuijt » Wed Mar 10, 2021 3:02 am

As Rod says, we're discussing it. But just so you know, it's not completely under our control -- planning Historicon is a nightmare for the organizers, because of Covid and uncertainty. And we've already heard that it is uncertain.

But if Historicon comes off, we're very likely to have something there in some format. It's a short driving distance for most of us (Rod excepted) and I just got my Covid vaccine this afternoon (as a college professor, I rate 1-B).
DK
FanatiChris
Squire

Post by FanatiChris » Fri Mar 12, 2021 12:33 am

The latest public word (Feb. 24) from Historicon convention director Joby Miller:

"So, at this time, we have not cancelled Historicon. We still have sufficient time to put on a great show even if planning doesn't start in earnest for a few more weeks. Submissions for events and signup for exhibitors were scheduled to start next week. To save everyone a lot of effort in case we have to cancel, we're pushing those dates out one month to March 24. This will still leave our staff ample time to prepare for the show if we're able to proceed, although some other dates currently on the website will likely change.

We remain hopeful that the situation resolves in our favor and we can hold Historicon, but we need to stress that the safety of all of our attendees is our most important consideration. We will continue to update you as new information is received."