General Reassignment During Tournament Rounds

Anything else related to the TRIUMPH! rules
Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 4:30 pm
Location: Niagara Region

General Reassignment During Tournament Rounds

Post by Pavane » Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:31 pm

I discussed this with DK at Fall In, but I figured that I might as well post it here so that it doesn't slip through the cracks.

Normally, the army composition (troop type stands and their number) is fixed for the duration of the tournament. In my Pictish army, for example, the general can be assigned to either a Javelin Cavalry stand or a Light Spear stand. If I don't change the number of Javelin Cavalry or Light Spear stands in the army, can the general be assigned as desired before each tournament round and revealed to their opponent as per rule 19.1b?
User avatar
David Kuijt
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:44 pm
Location: MD suburbs of Washington DC

Re: General Reassignment During Tournament Rounds

Post by David Kuijt » Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:37 pm

Seems reasonable to me. There are documented occasions when the same commander fought in different ways (Philip of Macedon and some Roman commanders being obvious ones). As long as the army composition doesn't change (same stands) and the general's allocation is legal according to the army list, my initial thought is that it should be legal.

We might want to specify that, though.
Post Reply