Sorry another question

A place for questions by and for the new gamer to TRIUMPH!
Post Reply
User avatar
Roundie
Levy
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2020 12:52 am

Sorry another question

Post by Roundie » Mon Jan 04, 2021 8:34 am

I went over to a mates today and we cracked out 3 games in the afternoon.
In the last game a combat came up where I'm not totally sure I called it right.
Picture 1 shows light foot and Jav Cav General changing into combat

Picture 2 shows 1st combat between the light foot (small dice factors, large dice rolled)
The flanking foot lost and fell back.

Picture 3. Shows 2nd combat. Note we didn't count the light foot (C) as an overlap, was that right?

The Cav Jav general destroyed the Light foot and Pursued because it doubled the foot. Was this right because of the flank contact?

Next turn the cavalry was destroyed as it couldn't fall back after combat.
Anything I did wrong here?
cheers
Attachments
Combat Contact.jpg
Combat Contact.jpg (157.57 KiB) Viewed 489 times
1st Combat.jpg
1st Combat.jpg (159.91 KiB) Viewed 489 times
2nd Combat.jpg
2nd Combat.jpg (158.72 KiB) Viewed 489 times
Next Turn Combat.jpg
Next Turn Combat.jpg (159.89 KiB) Viewed 489 times
User avatar
Rod
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: Sorry another question

Post by Rod » Mon Jan 04, 2021 2:13 pm

No need to be sorry for questions we love questions :) especially when they have really clear diagrams and pictures of the question!

And from what I can see in your excellent diagrams you did everything correctly.

The slight contact from the light foot is considered incidental contact, which is really just super close ZOCing in most cases assuming no other combat cut it off. It does not count as overlap in that position, because it does not meet any of the conditions from 68.1.

So in this case it does not impact the Jav Cav's initial combat or the resulting pursuit, because the contact is not "flank contact" in that the entire front of the light foot does not cover the entire flank of the Jav Cav.

After the pursuit it the Jav Cav is now in flank contact with the light foot for the next round of combat.
User avatar
Roundie
Levy
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2020 12:52 am

Re: Sorry another question

Post by Roundie » Mon Jan 04, 2021 6:02 pm

Cool
Thanks
Post Reply