Loss of a General & Victory Conditions

A place for questions by and for the new gamer to TRIUMPH!
Post Reply
User avatar
greedo
Squire
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 11:24 pm

Loss of a General & Victory Conditions

Post by greedo » Mon Oct 11, 2021 3:54 am

Excuse the flurry of separate threads, want to make sure these are searchable by other newbies.

I'm reading victory conditions:

1) At least 16 points lost, and more than opponent = game over
2) Loss of camp = 8 additional points + garrisoning troops cost
3) Elements sacking a camp and removed are not counted.

If a general is lost, does that count as an extra point lost? Even though the general is free?
I do see the command control issues with losing a general since every move will now cost +1 PIPs, but does losing a general count as +1 pts for victory?
I don't see it anywhere and am probably confusing it with other rules sets.

Thanks again.
User avatar
Rod
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: Loss of a General & Victory Conditions

Post by Rod » Mon Oct 11, 2021 11:53 am

No extra point loss for the General, you count the stand as the cost of the stand type.

So Knight General = 4 points
Pike General = 3 points
User avatar
greedo
Squire
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 11:24 pm

Re: Loss of a General & Victory Conditions

Post by greedo » Mon Oct 11, 2021 2:22 pm

Thanks Rod!

I have been playing a bunch of Saga lately so I think that might be infecting my thinking :)
User avatar
Rod
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 778
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: Loss of a General & Victory Conditions

Post by Rod » Mon Oct 11, 2021 3:29 pm

No, worries, I was playing a Table Top Simulator game yesterday with a new player and he lost his general in the first combat on a 6-1 split :shock:

Believe me that is penalty enough, no extra salt for that wound required.
User avatar
greedo
Squire
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 11:24 pm

Re: Loss of a General & Victory Conditions

Post by greedo » Mon Oct 11, 2021 5:11 pm

Rod wrote:
Mon Oct 11, 2021 3:29 pm
No, worries, I was playing a Table Top Simulator game yesterday with a new player and he lost his general in the first combat on a 6-1 split :shock:

Believe me that is penalty enough, no extra salt for that wound required.
Gutsy move in any game, committing your general to the first clash!
Post Reply