At what moment is the command distance measured?

A place to ask specific rules questions about TRIUMPH!
Post Reply
Delphin
Levy
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2019 12:12 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow

At what moment is the command distance measured?

Post by Delphin » Sat Jan 16, 2021 7:44 pm

I couldn't find the answer in rulebook: is the distance measured at the beginning of the turn, or before moving each stand/group? For wxample, can I move a stand, who breaks line-of-sight to another stand, and after it move the second stand withut +1 CP? Or firstly move the general stand than another stand became inside the command distance?
User avatar
Rod
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: At what moment is the command distance measured?

Post by Rod » Sat Jan 16, 2021 9:55 pm

It is measured at the time the command is given to the stand moving.

So for example if a general started too far from a stand and you used a command point to move the general closer, the stand could now be in command if you try to move it.
Delphin
Levy
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2019 12:12 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: At what moment is the command distance measured?

Post by Delphin » Mon Jan 18, 2021 8:18 am

Ok this. Thank!
User avatar
Bill Hupp
Companion-at-Arms
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:55 pm
Location: Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Contact:

Re: At what moment is the command distance measured?

Post by Bill Hupp » Wed Jan 20, 2021 3:25 pm

I hadn’t thought of that, but it makes perfect sense because sequence matters.

So a General more than 8Mu from an enemy, could move behind their own troops to the left and give a command, then move back right using a March move? Might be a helpful tactic for terrain features breaking up command or for sending that lone stand to attack a camp.

Bill
Bill Hupp
Thistle & Rose Miniatures
User avatar
David Kuijt
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 986
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:44 pm
Location: MD suburbs of Washington DC

Re: At what moment is the command distance measured?

Post by David Kuijt » Wed Jan 20, 2021 8:42 pm

Bill Hupp wrote:
Wed Jan 20, 2021 3:25 pm
So a General more than 8Mu from an enemy, could move behind their own troops to the left and give a command, then move back right using a March move?
Could, but that would be a waste. Use what command points you want to at the original location, move the general, then use what command points you want at the second location. Any general who is wasteful of his command points usually gets punished by the dice gods quickly thereafter.
DK
User avatar
Bill Hupp
Companion-at-Arms
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:55 pm
Location: Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Contact:

Re: At what moment is the command distance measured?

Post by Bill Hupp » Thu Jan 21, 2021 1:16 am

Right, you couldn't do that more than once or twice a game with good command dice results.
Bill Hupp
Thistle & Rose Miniatures
Post Reply