Passing Through

A place to ask specific rules questions about TRIUMPH!
MarkusB
Levy
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:00 am

Passing Through

Postby MarkusB » Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:37 pm

Is there a conflict between article 67.3 ("Voluntary single stand moves may pass through friendly stands within the same restrictions above. Group moves passing through friends are only possible if the moving group is entirely composed of skirmishers.") and article 33, in particular articles 33.2 and 33.3? I can't reconcile the directives.

Are group passing-through moves by (skirmishers or otherwise) permitted or not? Are group moves to the back (by skirmishers or otherwise) allowed?

MarkusB
Levy
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:00 am

Re: Passing Through

Postby MarkusB » Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:42 pm

Another passing through- related question: article 33.4 says "In all other circumstances, a stand making a tactical move may not pass through any part of a friendly stand.". Does this mean that 'closing the door' or performing any other wheel by elements in the middle of a linear (side-by-side) group first requires a forward movement equal to their base depth to clear free the rear corners? Or is 'transient' corner passing through allowed?

MarkusB
Levy
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:00 am

Re: Passing Through

Postby MarkusB » Tue Dec 27, 2016 9:52 pm

Just to facilitate the discussion, the relevant sentences are:

33.3 - A stand may only pass through friendly stands when moving as a single stand.
67.3 - [...] Group moves passing through friends are only possible if the moving group is entirely composed of skirmishers.

Article 67 describe the 'passing through' version of falling back, which is an involountary outcome move, so 67.3 seems a bit out of place in any case. Could it be a leftover from a previous draft?

User avatar
David Kuijt
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 540
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:44 pm
Location: MD suburbs of Washington DC

Re: Passing Through

Postby David Kuijt » Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:41 pm

Hey Markus,

Your note wasn't ignored -- it triggered some off-line discussion in WGC, and we're going to discuss it at our next meeting.
DK


Return to “Rules Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest