MarkusB wrote:More of the same!
Let's consider a group of 8 elements in a 4x2 block (i.e. 2 lines of 4 elements each, or equivalently 4 columns of 2 elements each, with front edges aligned and front corner contact). Let's say that the leftmost 4 elements (so, a 2x2 block of 2 columns with 2 elements each) are all warbands; while the rightmost 4 elements (again, a 2x2 block) are rabble (not to imply anythyng bad about them, of course: they're nice people).
Now, I want to move them forward as a group; but in doing so, all the rabble portion of the group will enter difficult terrain (while the warriors will stay in open terrain throughout all the move).
How many CPs does this move cost?
- The rule as written would seem to say eight (and, should you manage to roll eight CPs, I'd like to have a look at your die, if you please);
- The amended rule as clarified here would seem to imply two, because only 2 columns/frontages are entering difficult terrain;
- Or is it just one? In other words: is article 26.2 (rabble- and skirmishers-only group moves don't incur in any CP additional cost) also applicable to mixed groups? The current wording gives me the impression that 26.2 does not apply to mixed groups, but I'd like to check.
BTW, this really happened (yesterday evening)
And you rolled 8 cps?!?
Three pips if you move them all together. One for the outside-difficult-terrainers; one for each column of the others.
The rule for rabble and skirmishers doesn't say "rabble and skirmishers only" it says that the group moving must be rabble or skirmishers only. So if you want to move those 8 stands in two parts, one for the outsiders and one for the rab/skirm, it would cost you 2 command points. But if you move them all together as one group, the group isn't "rab/skirm only", so the exception allowing group moves for a single pip in difficult terrain to groups entirely made of rab/skirm doesn't apply.