Column contacted on flank

A place to ask specific rules questions about TRIUMPH!
Post Reply
Spencer
Squire
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:37 am

Column contacted on flank

Post by Spencer » Wed Dec 14, 2016 6:34 pm

I'm looking for the rule reference for a column that is charged in the flank.
User avatar
David Kuijt
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 1042
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:44 pm
Location: MD suburbs of Washington DC

Re: Column contacted on flank

Post by David Kuijt » Thu Dec 15, 2016 12:35 pm

The rule should be in 55.2, but as written 55.2 only covers conforming when multiple stands hit a single one (both flanks and rear in the worst case). It doesn't cover when a single stand hits several (one with true flank contact and one or more with leftover frontage) and how to make room.

Use the familiar mechanism for now; we'll discuss and resolve it. Off-hand I'm not sure that there is any better mechanism than the natural one. Sadly wording it won't be easy, as there are several special cases that come up in rare circumstances. Likely it will end something like this:
  • <The stand in flank combat conforms as in 55.2>
  • If there is insufficient room due to other stands friendly to the conforming stand also being in contact with the enemy stand, the first such is moved to directly behind the conforming stand, retaining its facing relative to the conforming stand (this wording sucks but takes care of the rare case of back-to-back columns being hit in the flank).
  • If more than one stand would be moved this way (wording sucks again), [RULES SHOULD HAVE ONLY ONE OF THE FOLLOWING OPTIONS:]
    • Shift the third stand back to make room on the attacking stand's frontage [this is the familiar rule for players of various older systems]
    • or Shift the third stand as well, same as the second stand that was moved behind the first
  • If there is insufficient room to shift one or both such not-in-combat stands behind the fighting one because of a board edge, impassable terrain, or other stands, [RULES SHOULD HAVE ONLY ONE OF THE FOLLOWING OPTIONS:]
    • Shift the attacking stand back to make room. If that isn't possible, the attack may not occur. [this is the familiar rule for players of various older systems]
    • Shift the attacking stand back to make room. If that isn't possible, the defending player (the non-active player) chooses one of the stands to be destroyed.
    • Don't shift the attacking stand back to make room, just have the defending player (the non-active player) choose one of the stands to be destroyed.
Sheesh, having a clear resolution of that isn't going to be easy.

So Spencer, use the legacy rule for now, and we'll get back to you.
DK
Spencer
Squire
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:37 am

Re: Column contacted on flank

Post by Spencer » Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:26 am

That works fine....thanks and good luck with the final verbiage!
Post Reply