Strange but legal?

A place to ask specific rules questions about TRIUMPH!
Post Reply
User avatar
Roundie
Levy
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2020 12:52 am

Strange but legal?

Post by Roundie » Thu Jan 28, 2021 6:38 am

The other night we came across something that we found a little strange.

Basically a unit of Jav Cav charged into the rear of some skirmishers.

The resulting combat was a draw.

With 2 pips in the next turn my opponent turned his skirmishers around and moved 1 unit of heavy foot backwards onto the flank of the Jav Cav.

We couldn't find any thing in the rules that said the heavy foot couldn't now support the skirmishers.

Seems a little strange you can do this are we missing something?

Move.jpg
Move.jpg (162.99 KiB) Viewed 433 times
Attachments
Move1.jpg
Move1.jpg (164.31 KiB) Viewed 433 times
Last edited by Roundie on Sun Feb 14, 2021 9:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Rod
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 657
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: Strange but legal?

Post by Rod » Thu Jan 28, 2021 3:22 pm

Yes, that can happen. If the Jav Cav doesn't win or withdraw, it will get even worse if that infantry decides to turn and trap them.
User avatar
David Kuijt
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 990
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:44 pm
Location: MD suburbs of Washington DC

Re: Strange but legal?

Post by David Kuijt » Thu Jan 28, 2021 9:58 pm

Perfectly legal, and not really that strange. If the heavy foot was light foot (with a greater movement rate) it could easily have hit the JavCav in the flank, putting it in a no-retreat situation.
DK
Post Reply