Charge Through

Discussion of the upcoming Battle Card system for TRIUMPH!
User avatar
David Kuijt
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:44 pm
Location: MD suburbs of Washington DC

Charge Through

Postby David Kuijt » Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:25 pm

The general rule is that open order may not pass through close order. While that's a good rule in general, there are historical examples where an exception occurred -- where a particular mounted troop type moved through friendly close-order troops to attack or in some other way.

This will be reflected in the Battle Cards by this "Charge Through" card:
Battle Card: Charge Through wrote:Cost: 1 pt per card (may purchase up to 2 such)

Play: reveal at start of game. Use during a friendly movement phase. A group of the designated mounted type may move through a group of the designated close-order foot type as if those foot were open order, on this turn only. The effect ends during the movement phase when a single group (or stand) has moved through as described; it has no impact upon fall-back or pass-through during the combat results phase of the same turn or on any subsequent turn.

This card is expended when played. Flip the card upside down (face down) when it is used, to mark it being expended for that battle.


Can we get some help finding armies (and mounted troop types) who would have this battle card? Please cite the battle where the event occurred; just saying "it seems reasonable to me" is insufficient documentation.
DK

Rod
Companion-at-Arms
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:29 pm

Re: Charge Through

Postby Rod » Thu Apr 06, 2017 4:59 pm

Hmmm, what about a card that allows my Indian Elephants to charge through Horde?

Of course the Horde would be destroyed, but there are always more Horde ;)

Andreas Johansson
Squire
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: Charge Through

Postby Andreas Johansson » Sat May 13, 2017 10:43 am

Not a battle, but Nikephoros Phocas' Praecepta Militaria have the cataphracts move through a line of heavy foot, the intervals of between the subunits of which are smaller than the width of the cataphract formation, as a standard manoeuvre.

Note that this would involve close order mounted (Cataphracts) moving through close order foot (Pavisiers) in Triumph! terms.

User avatar
David Kuijt
Grand Master WGC
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:44 pm
Location: MD suburbs of Washington DC

Re: Charge Through

Postby David Kuijt » Sat May 13, 2017 1:29 pm

Andreas Johansson wrote:Not a battle, but Nikephoros Phocas' Praecepta Militaria have the cataphracts move through a line of heavy foot, the intervals of between the subunits of which are smaller than the width of the cataphract formation, as a standard manoeuvre.

Note that this would involve close order mounted (Cataphracts) moving through close order foot (Pavisiers) in Triumph! terms.


That's pretty cool.
DK


Return to “Battle Cards”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest